OHSAS 18001 Certification in Sri Lanka

OHSAS 18001 stands for Occupational health and safety management. OHSAS 18001 gives a structure to perceive, control and diminish the threats associated with health and safety in the working environment. OHSAS 18001 motivates the staff and draws in the client and providers. OHSAS 18001 is made of procedures, frameworks, practices, records, and plans that decide the laws administering how your association deals with occupational health and safety.

Occupational Health and Safety Management – is a universally applied standard for word related wellbeing and security the executive’s frameworks. It endures helping a wide range of organizations set up verifiably solid word related health and safety management system. It is a generally perceived and mainstream word related health and safety management of the executive’s framework. It decreases “working environment perils and lifts worker confidence”. The main goal of this Management System is to reduce operational risks and hazards. OHSAS 18001 assists you to build the best achievable working conditions in your organization – and helps you to meet industry, contractual requirements as well as regulatory and customer requirements.

Also, check ——>> OHSAS 18001 Certification in Sri Lanka

What is the PDCA (Plan Do Check Act) Model in OHSAS?

Plan-Do-Check-Act (likewise called “PDCA”) is a cycle that was begun by Walter Shewhart and made mainstream by Edward Deming – two of the dads of present-day quality control. This idea is a cycle for actualizing change which, when pursued and rehashed, would prompt rehashed enhancements in the process it was applied to.

This is a model for development that is supported, as opposed to only a one-time convenient solution, and it is thus that it is applied to the ISO norms. The ISO models have the primary objective that is a nonstop improvement of the Management System.

Benefits of OHSAS 18001 Certification

  • Enhances corporate image and probability among regulators, stakeholders, prospective clients, customers, and the public.
  • Adoption of universal best manner in relation to risk management.
  • Ensures the health and well-being of sub-contractors, public and the workers, sub-contractors and the public.
  • Minimization of reliability of employers through the support of proactive rather than reactive controls.
  • Reduces accident and conflict rates by decreasing or reducing workplace hazards.
  • Improves the disturbance research process.
  • Increases employee motivation through the provision of a safer workplace and participation process.
  • Encouragement to determine risk associated factors and activities.
  • Reduction in defection and employee turnover.
  • Increase in awareness concerning risks in the business.
  • Active participation and trust from employees.
  • Reduced cost of accidents and insurance.
  • Established organizational control and risk management.
  • Recognized as qualified for International standard adds credibility to the organization.

Requirements of OHSAS 18001 Certification

  • Hazard identification, Risk Assessment, and Determining Controls.
  • Legal and Other Requirements.
  • Objectives and Programs.
  • Responsibility, Roles, Resources, Authority, and Accountability.
  • Competence, Exercise, and Consciousness.
  • Consultation, Communication, and Participation.
  • Documentation.
  • Control of Documents.
  • Operational Control.
  • Emergency Preparation and Response.
  • Performance Measure and Monitoring.
  • Evaluation of Compliance.
  • Incident Investigation, Non-conformances, Corrective & Preventive Action.
  • Control of Records.
  • Internal Audit.
  • Management Review.

Also, check ——>> OHSAS 18001 Consultant in Sri Lanka

OHSAS 18001 Certification Process

The OHSAS 18001 certification process involves a two-stage certification process.

  • Stage 1 OHSAS 18001 (Document review and to see the preparedness of the organization for Stage-2 Audit)
  • Stage 2 OHSAS 18001 (Certification Assessment)
    – Review of Audit Report & Certification decision
    – Award of Certification

OHSAS 18001 certificate validity is for 3 years and a company needs to undergo surveillance visit audits every Year to maintain their OHSAS 18001 certification. Achieving the standard will lead a clear sign to your partners that you watch worker’s health and safety as an inclination inside your association.

Now the OHSAS 18001 is replaced by ISO 45001, which was announced in March 2018 by the International Organization for Standardization. The companies/Organization which are certified to OHSAS 18001 should transfer to ISO 45001 by March 2021 if they want to maintain a verified certification.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s