Levels of BIFMA Certification

While buying any furniture, the first question that arrives in the mind is how long is it durable? Increase the safety and durability of your office furniture by achieving the BIFMA Certification for your organization. As a user, you may take the comfort, safety, and durability of the furniture as the top concern for the commercial furniture industry. BIFMA Certification helps in complying with the regulation, legislation, and standards governing the furniture industry. Business Institutional Furniture Manufacturer’s Association (BIFMA) especially applies to institutional and business furniture to make office furniture sustainable and safer for use.
BIFMA is American National Standard Institute ANSI accredited. ANSI is the institution to develop the standards for the protection of industrial workers. BIFMA is a non-profit organization established for creating voluntary standards for industrial furniture keeping in mind environmental protection. ANSI BIFMA is passed through the BIFMA testing which includes Mechanical testing, Chemical testing, Finish testing, Textile testing, Flammability Testing, Electrical safety and performance testing, Comparison testing/fit for use (FFU) test/performance test to ensure that furniture is safe.

BIFMA Certifications works on BIFMA level® which are divided into three tiers. Tested furniture products can be awarded as level 1, level 2, or level 3 conformance level mark of Certification based on the sustainability evaluation. Scoring is based on the degree to which the product, the manufacturer, and production facilities meet sustainability requirements for environmentally-preferable and socially responsible furniture. Similar to the U.S. Green Building Councils LEED program, BIFMA Level certification need to prerequisites minimum points to achieve the Certification. ANSI/BIFMA e3 Furniture Sustainability Standard, ANSI/BIFMA X5.1 Office Seating, ANSI/SOHO S6.5 Small Office/Home Office, ANSI/BIFMA X5.5 Desk Products are some of the BIFMA Conformance standards.

Also, Check —->> BIFMA Certification in India

Products under BIFMA Level Certification include these categories:

  • Moveable walls
  • Systems furniture
  • Desk systems
  • Case goods
  • Tables
  • Seating
  • Accessories


level 1-32 to 44 total points is the first tier of certified presentation; at least 5 of which are product-related points.

level 2-45 to 62 total points additional milestones of presentation achieved; at least 11 of which are product-related points.

level 3-63 to 100 total points the highest level of presentation acknowledged; at least 18 of which are product-related points.

Level works by the prerequisites of the product requirements. The BIFMA system considers corporate facility, and product impacts across categories based on four performance criteria including

1. Materials

The standard deals with the material issues for their furniture. Manufacturers must have a design for environment (DFE) program should be placed accurately. The standard recognizes sustainability for materials, such as climate neutrality, biodegradability, recycled content, the efficiency of material usage, selection and use of rapidly renewable materials, etc.

2. Energy

A LEVEL certification provides a perspective on sustainability policies, manufacturing facilities for demonstrating an Energy Star equivalent of 60 or higher. Measurements from of the sustainability of the furniture, impacts of materials as they move from their simple origins as raw material into their ultimate finished state.

3. Health

Few items have as great a significance on human and ecosystem health. The standard has listed over 500 chemicals that eventual reduction or elimination of, chemicals on the list from finished products.

4. Social

Beyond health and safety, LEVEL® accounts social responsibility, external health and safety management as well as inclusiveness are optional credits within this section. It’s an extensive system with multiple ways to accumulate points.


To make the BIFMA Certification process simple. You should hire a consultant when a consultant received your application they will guide you and your business through the following steps.

  1. Gap analysis
  2. Formal assessment
  3. Training
  4. Documentation
  5. Internal Audit
  6. External Audit
  7. BIFMA Plan & how to get Certified
  8. Certification and beyond

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s